Look out Louisiana!

So my husband and I just moved to Louisiana about 2 months ago. Being a Pennsylvania girl, I am still adjusting, though I was quite surprised at how cold the temperatures have been around here. I expected to move to Louisiana and it to be warm and full of sunshine. Yes we’ve had a few sunshine-y days here but for the most part it has been very cool (I’m talking I brought Pennsylvania with me cool!)

I really wanted to start off this blog with a post about some scrumptious food that I am cooking up in my kitchen but as fate would have it, I decided to start my blog on a day of fasting. You guessed it, Ash Wednesday. Darn silly woman, if I would have started my blog yesterday I could have blogged about Mardi Gras (alas my Mardi Gras was spent on the couch with my dog and my car encased in ice). So I’ve determined that this post should be about food for the soul.

As it is Ash Wednesday, and for those of you that don’t know what Ash Wednesday is, it is the start of the Lenten season. It’s a day of fasting. No this does not mean that we do not eat at all on this day, it means that we eat two very small meals, maybe one normal sized meal, and no snacking. It’s offering up a sacrifice. And also onto the Lenten season. We give up things for Lent as a sacrifice. It is supposed to remind us of what else was sacrificed for us.

Anyway, I digress. Food for the soul. Hmmm, I had to think about this one for awhile. What can feed the soul? There are just a multitude of things that come to mind for me when I think of this but I’ll share just a few.
(1) Reading. What reading you might ask. The Bible? Maybe. Devotionals? Possibly. I think that’s really up to you. Isn’t nourishing the mind, nourishing the soul as well? Today I’ve chosen “Julie and Julia.” Quite fitting I feel as I am starting this blog. Maybe someone will read it eventually.
(2) Alone time. Some people would think of this as meditation. It very well could be meditation. Sit quietly for awhile. Go for a walk. Visit a library. Go to a park. Just reflect on all the wonderful things that you have and make you, you.
(3) Give thanks. This could be thanking your friends or family. It could be thanking God. It could be all of the above, but I realized that saying thank you to someone is just as rewarding in my soul as being thanked does.

Ok, I’ve rambled on for quite a bit now. Please comment and share. I’d really love to get this thing off the ground!

2 thoughts on “Look out Louisiana!

  1. I love your blog! And I HAVE been interested in oil pulling, only because my son and daughter-in-law are sooooo into coconut oil. Don’t know if I will actually try it though.
    At school, we are slipping through the third quarter so fast. Even with this draggy winter, the days seem to scoot by quickly.
    We miss you…..hope to see you sometime for a visit!
    Joey

    Like

Leave a Reply

