Crockpot Confessions

Alright I admit it. I am totally and completely addicted to my crockpot. I love making things in my crockpot for several reasons.

(1) It is super simple. You pretty much just dump everything in, plug it in and let it go.

(2) The food is delicious. I don’t know what magic happens in that crockpot, but whatever it is I never want it to stop.

(3) I’m lazy. Don’t get me wrong. I have those days where I am super motivated to cook and prepare meals but some days, I just don’t want to deal with all the dishes and the cleaning. Clean up with the crockpot is just as simple as wiping it out.

Ok with that said I want to share with you one of my favorite crock pot recipes. I don’t know where this one came from but I’ll just tell you that I got it from my mom. I’m sure it’s not her recipe per se  but it is absolutely delicious. We just call it our Creamy Crockpot Italian Chicken.

Seriously, this stuff is delicious. I feel like it’s total comfort food. So simple and so satisfying. My husband loves it, and I confess to entertaining with it. I feel like I’m always that person that says “Would you like the recipe? It’s so easy!” And my guests usually say yes! There are two things that tell me they like the food I make, and those are clean plates and the recipe in hand.  I feel satisfied if I can do that.

I would say it is my husband that makes me feel great about my cooking, but honestly the man loves everything I cook. I guess that’s a blessing right? Well without further ado, here’s the recipe. Pictures to come soon.

Creamy Crockpot Italian Chicken

3-4 Boneless skinless chicken breasts (thawed if from frozen)
1 packet Good seasons Italian dressing mix
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 block cream cheese (I think it’s 8 oz)
water

Add the chicken and soup to the crockpot. Pour on enough water to just cover the chicken, then sprinkle the Italian dressing mix over the top. Cook on low for 4 hours (this is approximate) or until chicken is cooked through. Add the cream cheese in chunks and stir until you have  creamy gravy/sauce. At this point I usually shred the chicken and stir it together with the sauce. Serve over noodles or rice.

I like to serve it with steamed broccoli on the side. Though I’m usually the only one that eats the broccoli in my household. You do not need to shred the chicken. I just like to at this point because the sauce is just scrumptious and I want as much of it as I can get.

Ok lovelies! Please comment and share.

Leave a Reply

