Hubs’ Favorite Chicken

Here we go with the first official post of food. The first one I’m not going to count as a real food post because I don’t have any pictures. Well I don’t have any of that recipe just yet. Mainly because I was daydreaming about the recipe and not actually cooking it. Judge if you must but yes sometimes I daydream about food. Anyway, I’m getting off the topic on hand, which is chicken. Ok, am I really off topic because I really was talking about chicken.

My dear husband works hard for us everyday and I know that. So the least I can do for him is have a nice meal cooked when he comes home. It just happens to be a bonus if we have leftovers because then I can have a nice meal cooked two days in a row. Remember that whole idea in “Crockpot Confessions” about me being lazy?

So here we go. The hubs favorite chicken. Really I would consider a kind of teriyaki chicken. The marinade is also great on steak. I’ve never tried it on fish or tofu (I actually don’t really eat tofu) but hey, there is a possibility it could be great on them as well! I’ll post the recipe for the marinade at the end of this post.

First, I start off by preparing the marinade. I take all of the ingredients for it and mix it together in a large bowl. Though it will say in the recipe that follows to use honey, you can make some substitutions if you don’t have it on hand and don’t want to run to the store. Most of the ingredients in the marinade are things I have on hand all of the time, but I actually didn’t have honey today, so I substituted a tablespoon of brown sugar instead. Still just as delightful! Anyway I mix the marinade together in a large bowl (because you will be adding the meat into it) by whisking it or using a fork. It will end up looking like this.

Noms!
Noms!

Then I prepare my meat. In this case you can see that I’m using chicken. Mostly because I have a secret love affair with chicken. Or not, but chicken is a staple food in my household. Even the dog likes chicken (see the picture in my about section) I trim the meat of all visible fat, then I pound them out thin. Here’s a tip (which you can see in the picture) put the meat in a plastic zipper bag before you pound it. It saves on mess/cleanup. My mother taught me this trick, though she always used plastic wrap. I find that the plastic wrap slips a little too much. I opted for this. Much easier.

109

Once you have your meat prepared add it to the bowl with your marinade and mix it around until it is coated. I then let it sit for at least an hour in the refrigerator to really soak up the flavors.

soaking up the goodness
soaking up the goodness

Then you guessed it. Throw it on the grill! I find it is best when cooked on an outdoor grill, but the hubs and I just don’t have one yet. We do however have this lovely indoor one.

Sizzling!
Sizzling!

Cook the meat thoroughly until the juices run clear when checking it. I suppose you could bake this as well (which I have done) but it just doesn’t have that same pizzazz that it does on the grill.

I'm ready for dinner
I’m ready for dinner

And there you have it! Super simple Hubs’ Favorite Chicken. I have it here with some sauteed zucchini, which I cooked in olive oil and minced garlic. Also great with a side of rice. Try it out and let me know what you think!

 

 

Hubs’ Favorite Chicken

Marinade

3 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp red wine or apple cider vinegar
2 Tbsp water
2-3 Tbsp soy sauce (I like the low sodium kind)
1 Tbsp honey
1 packet Good Seasons Italian dressing mix

Stir all ingredients together and add chicken or beef. Pictured I have about a lb of boneless skinless chicken breasts.

Leave a Reply

