My Momma’s Muffins

mountain of muffins
mountain of muffins

I’m not entirely sure this is my momma’s recipe. In fact I’m almost positive it’s not, but she is the one who taught me how to make them and shared this recipe. It’s no secret, to me at least, that most people love muffins. Ok, maybe that’s an overstatement. Many of the people I know love muffins. However, I hate feeling guilty about eating one. Ok, again maybe that’s an exaggeration. I feel slightly guilty about eating one, but not bad enough to stop eating muffins.

That’s where these muffins come in. They are super tasty and not terrible for you. I think I calculated them out to about 80 calories each, which in muffin terms I would say is pretty fantastic. They are bran muffins. Before you totally lose your mind and stop reading this post, they are not dry cardboard tasting bran muffins. Oh no, they are far from it. They are sweet and soft and just spectacular.

ready for the oven!
ready for the oven!

Another wonderful thing about these muffins is that the batter makes a ton of muffins. Oh, there I go with my exaggerations again. It makes quite a few. I make them in a cupcake tin rather than the large muffin tin. They just work out to be the perfect size for my husband and myself. Recipe will follow at the end of the post

First mix your dry ingredients together (minus the bran flakes) in a LARGE bowl. I can’t stress large enough as this is probably going to be holding your batter for quite a while in the refrigerator. I recommend glass. In a separate  bowl, mix all of your wet ingredients. Once they are all combined, pour your wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until well combined. Then a little bit at a time add in the bran flakes. I’m sure you could probably substitute some other type of bran but I find that the bran flake really absorb the batter best. Once you have added all of the bran flakes your batter will look very… lumpy, and maybe a bit dry. Have no fear! This is what it is supposed to look like. Cover and place in the refrigerator for 2 days. Wait a minute! Did I just say 2 days? Yes, yes I did. You can probably bake them after one, but really, 2 days will allow those bran flakes to really soften. Afterward your batter will look like this:

2 day batter
2 day batter

Tip: Sometimes the batter will still be quite dry. The bran flakes will soak up a lot of the liquid. If this happens, add a bit more buttermilk or regular milk until you have a smoother consistency.

That’s it. Just add the batter to your muffin tin and bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. (This is the time I use for the cupcake size muffins) My guess is that if you are using the larger muffin tins it will take a little longer.

Feel free to experiment with the batter and add items in such as blueberries, strawberries, banana nut, or my personal favorite chocolate chip. Of course this will change the calorie count some, but do chocolate calories really count? ….Maybe….

Strawberry jammin' it up
Strawberry jammin’ it up

I also recommend serving with your favorite jam or jelly. Pictured here I have my favorite, strawberry jam. These are so ridiculously good when they come out of the oven, all steamy and warm. Oh. my. word. Ok, I’m going to finish this post so I can go enjoy one! Please comment, share, and subscribe!!

My Momma’s Muffins

Dry ingredients
17 oz bran flakes
5 cups flour
5 tsp baking soda
2 cups sugar
2 tsp salt

Wet ingredients
4 eggs
1 quart buttermilk
1 cup oil (I haven’t tried substituting applesauce yet but I have a theory it would be good)

Combine dry ingredients in one LARGE bowl except bran flakes. Combine wet ingredients in another bowl then add into the dry ingredients. Mix thoroughly then add the bran flakes little by little until completely combined. Cover and place in refrigerator for 2 days. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease muffin tin and spoon in batter. Bake for 20 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

