Tomato Soup Mac and Cheese.. A Family Lenten Favorite

So for those of you that aren’t Catholic, you should know that during the season of Lent we abstain from eating meat on Ash Wednesday and all Fridays. I won’t get too much into all of it but it is something that we do. Well, for as long as I can remember, a family staple during Lent has been my Grandma Bert’s Mac and Cheese. This stuff is the bomb. I can remember my mom making this every Lent and Grandma Bert having it in the house. The aromas poured into my nose taunting me knowing I had to wait for it to be finished. Now that I’m married I knew I needed to fill my house with the same smell. Seriously, I have to stop myself from eating the whole pan of it. Obviously, since I prefaced that it is a Lenten staple, yes it is meatless. Yet again it is a super simple recipe with a scrumdiddlyumptious result. Yes, I went a little Willy Wonka on you there.

But then you see my title, tomato soup mac and cheese. You may be thinking “Why would anyone put tomato soup in mac and cheese?” Or if you’re like my husband  (prior to tasting it) you’ll say “That’s not mac and cheese. Ick.” *rolls eyes*

Being the person that I am, I was determined to prove him wrong, in fact prove that this was the most splendid Mac and Cheese that he was ever going to taste. Well by his response of two heaping bowls full at dinner last night I’d say I succeeded.

ingredients
ingredients

So let’s get down to the nitty-gritty of the cooking. You will need: 1 lb box of macaroni (here I used shells because it is what I had on hand), 8 oz of cheese (Grandma Bert used Velveeta, but use what you have on hand, such as cheddar, a can of tomato soup, milk, salt and pepper.

pasta
pasta

In a large pot, bring water to a boil and cook the pasta until it is “al dente.” This is very important as when you are baking the mac and cheese after it will soak up some of the sauce and finish cooking.

Return the pot to the stove while your mac is straining, and add in the tomato soup, half a can’s worth of milk (or more if you prefer a thinner sauce) and the cheese. Heat stirring constantly until the cheese has melted. 027

Then return to pasta to the pot and stir until well combined.

029

      Once you have mixed it well, pour into a greased 9×13 baking dish ( I prefer glass as you can see) and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until the top starts to brown. Then serve and enjoy!

So good!
So good!

If you try this recipe please let me know! Comment, share, subscribe. Thanks all!!

Leave a Reply

