Cousin Barb’s Apple Cake

So, basically here’s the deal. Any excuse I can find to use my KitchenAid stand mixer, I will use. Seriously, it is one of my favorite kitchen appliances (yes, it may even trump the crockpot!). I have many fond memories of baking in the kitchen with my grandmothers and mom, whether it was chocolate chip cookies, brownies, or cakes. I longed for the day when I could have my own coveted stand mixer. Sounds like a strange thing for a child to dream about, but I wanted one so bad. Now I have one and trust me, it is being put to good use in making my Cousin Barb’s Apple Cake.

019

This cake is incredibly easy to make and will tickle your taste buds with every single bite. Simplified… IT IS SO GOOD! If you like anything apple cinnamon, this cake is for you. The mix of cinnamon and apples is so delightful and not at all overpowering. I recommend enjoying it with a big glass of milk or my personal favorite… a big mug of coffee.

Now for the process and recipe to follow.

In your mixer cream together the shortening and the sugar (both white and brown).008

Next add your eggs and milk, mix until well combined. *Tip: I break the eggs into a separate bowl and not directly into the mixer bowl to avoid having to pick out any rogue egg shells.010

In a separate bowl mix together your flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon (if you choose to add the extra cinnamon… which I did of course). Then add this mixture to your mixing bowl and mix well.013

Time for the piece de resistance (I know I don’t have the correct spelling here but just go with me) the apples. I used Granny Smith apples mainly because I don’t think anything can beat their tartness matched with the sweet in any baked dessert. I really only used about one large apple, but if you have smaller ones it may take 2-3.014

Now for the topping. I omitted the nuts in this case, mainly because I can sometimes be an airhead at the grocery store and forgot to pick them up. No matter. I still made the streusel-like topping. As tempting as it was to just eat it by the spoonful I opted to put it all onto the cake.

017

 

*Warning: This cake will smell tantalizing as it is baking and immediately coming out of the oven. You would be wise to wait a few minutes before digging in or you might get burnt. Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything…….

018

 And there you have it. This cake is sure to impress and tickle your taste buds. Please comment and share. I always love feedback!

020

*Note: My husband informed me that he did not give up all sweets for Lent… just chocolate, so I’m not actively breaking his Lenten promise 🙂
Leave a Reply

