Meat-Free Friday Presents: Green Bean and Potato Soup

I am so excited to be sharing this recipe today. Especially since this is the first time I’ve ever made it fully on my own. I’ve helped my mom at home multiple times but I have never made it in my new home. (Granted, I have only been here a few months). This soup is meat-free (not dairy free) for another Lenten Friday. It has a nice zip to it that will keep you coming back for more, yet it is a hearty soup and filling. I remember being so excited when mom would tell me that this is what was for dinner, well at least once I was in high school. I don’t think I really cared for it when I was younger, but hey tastes change, and I am so thankful that I did.

While prepping for this soup and dancing around in my kitchen to Mumford and Sons, I got a bit nostalgic. While cleaning and snapping the green beans I was transported back to my mom’s kitchen, helping clean beans to be canned. I don’t just mean a few beans, I mean bushels from my grandpa’s garden by our house. Growing up we had so many fresh vegetables during the summer months and that is something I will desperately miss. My grandpa still keeps that garden. Though we never listened to Mumford and Sons we would sit and chat. I miss those times and those visits. They are things I will cherish for years, just as I cherish these recipes.

Anyway, back to the soup. Like I said, it has a zip that will bring you coming back. This comes from the sour cream. Now, this is not a “low fat” soup. I’ll tell you that from the get-go, but it is definitely worth using all the ingredients. Let me break it down for you

First, prep your vegetables by cubing your potatoes and snapping your green beans. You could peel the potatoes if you like, but if you don’t mind the skins there is no reason to remove them. Just make sure you scrub them clean. No one wants dirt soup.

010

Then rinse and snap your green beans. You could cut the ends off then cut them in half if you prefer, but I’ll tell you, there’s just something therapeutic about snapping them and getting in a rhythm.

011

Add both to a big stock pot and just cover with water. Place on stove and bring to a boil.

014

While your potatoes and green beans are boiling, you need to make a roux. (pronounced roo). **Warning: You need to watch this constantly or it WILL burn**

In a heavy skillet (I used cast iron) melt your butter and then add in flour. Stir often but watch CONSTANTLY.I cannot stress this enough.

019

Not quite ready
Not quite ready

You want to cook it until you get a deep caramel color. It will be ALMOST burnt but not burnt.

023

Then pour into your potatoes and green beans. It will bubble and splatter so be very careful. You can also ladle some of the soup liquid back into the pan and stir to remove any remaining “crusty bits” as I call them.

024

Then add your sour cream. Stir well so it is thoroughly combined and you don’t have any big chunks of sour cream floating around. Add salt and pepper to taste.

026

Enjoy! Like most soups this would be great with a chunk of crusty bread or a nice green salad.

030

Comment, share, pin! Let me know your feedback.

Green Bean Potato Soup

4-5 large potatoes, cleaned and cut into chunks
1 lb of green beans, ends removed and snapped
water
8 oz sour cream
salt
pepper
roux
1 stick of butter
1/4-1/2 cup of flour

Place cut potatoes and green beans in a large stock pot; cover with water and bring to a boil. In a separate heavy skillet, melt butter and add flour. Cook until ALMOST burnt (golden caramel color). Add to the boiling potatoes and green beans. Once the potatoes and green beans are tender, remove from heat and add the sour cream, salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

