Pork Roast and Sauerkraut

Whoa baby! So it’s been a few days since I’ve posted. It wasn’t because I didn’t want to keep up to date with you lovely people but we had some internet issues and I wasn’t able to get online. *Le sigh*

Anyway, I am back and excited to share a simple crockpot recipe with you. There aren’t a ton of ingredients and you can swap in what you would like but this is the way I do things.

007

Back home in PA, my family would make our own sauerkraut. We would have a kitchen covered in little cabbage shreds and salt everywhere with the addition of a giant crock ready to ferment. Some of you might immediately think “sauerkraut, ew… no!” but let me stop you right there. I used to HATE sauerkraut, and I mean hate it with a passion. You could not get me to eat it no matter how hard you tried. I would not, could not with a goat, would not, could not, on a boat. Yet now, I love the stuff… when prepared in this fashion.

After we fermented our sauerkraut and canned it, well we would use it. (Don’t get weirded out by “fermented” people… don’t forget, wine is fermented too! *smiles*)

So here’s what you do. This will help cut down on the “sour” parts of the sauekraut and make it absolutely delectable.

Take your sauerkraut  and drain it of all juices. Then add it to the crock.

Sadly not mom's sauerkraut
Sadly not mom’s sauerkraut

On top of that add your brown sugar

010

Time to give it a bath in some yummy…. beer! Here I chose to use Redds apple ale because I thought the apple would give it a nice depth of flavor and it reminds me of “pork chops and applesauce.” Those go together right? You can use pretty much any beer you like. It’s all about preference.

No I didn't drink it... but I'm going to eat it!
No I didn’t drink it… but I’m going to eat it!

Then on top of all of that, place your pork roast. I have selected a BBQ pork roast this time, mainly because at the store I thought that sounded delightful, but this is just as good with a plain roast.

Then just turn that slow cooker on high for several hours or until the meat is tender enough to shred. I recommend serving with a side of mashed potatoes or if you are like my mother, right on top. Enjoy!

Been cooking away, all day long!
Been cooking away, all day long!
One thought on “Pork Roast and Sauerkraut

  1. So the brown sugar part sounds really good!! I always do the butter (the girls call me mrs. Butterton) and onions version. Will definitely give this a try!! Thanks! OH, and it snowed again today 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

