Kale Chips… My New Obsession

So hubby and I have really been working on eating healthier. We know that we both need to and trying the 21 day fix is definitely helping. Now I make no excuses about it. I love to snack. Salty, sweet, crispy, crunchy anything. But most of the snack foods on the market are just not healthy at all, or make claims to be healthy and really just… aren’t.

So I started scouring Pinterest boards trying to find something that I could make easily at home that would satisfy my snack attack. What I found was kale chips.

I had heard about kale chips before and tasted them (loved them) once, but I had never attempted to make them. So this was definitely going to be an experiment for me. I found a post from www.gimmesomeoven.com for sea salt and vinegar kale chips. Now, I like a good salt and vinegar chip myself from time to time but not always. I simply adapted the recipe to fit my needs. This is just my basic adaptation and you could really add whatever you want to them.

While at the grocery store I found pre-cut kale. Actually, it was the only kale I could find in my grocery store. Worked like a charm.

IMG_0794

I brought it home, washed it, drizzled with just a small amount of olive oil,

IMG_0796sprinkled with some sea salt and tossed.

IMG_0795 I spread on baking sheets and put it in the oven for about 11 minutes. The chips crisped up perfectly and have such a unique and delicious flavor.IMG_0797

I love them. But the real test was the hubs. He came home and tried them, and….. finished the whole bowl. Every last kale chip I had made was gone. He even informed me that he preferred them to potato chips.

IMG_0798

I’ll chalk this one up to a win!

3 thoughts on “Kale Chips… My New Obsession

  1. I love reading your blog! I tried Kale Chips, but didn’t pick the right time. I made them, seasoned them with garlic and rosemary and other yummy seasonings…….. and soon realized my pregnancy food aversions were strongly pointing to garlic. So I’m slightly apprehensive at trying them again until I have a bundle in my arms and not in my abdomen. haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

