Homemade Basil Pasta with Fresh Mozzarella and Tomatoes

***Disclaimer…. Not 21 Day Fix approved***

Hey good lifers, sorry for my slight absence. I am so excited to share this recipe with you today.

Simply Delicious... Heavenly
Simply Delicious… Heavenly

Being from an Italian family I have always loved pasta. Now that I’m in my own home I really enjoy making homemade pasta, plus, making pasta always gives me an excuse to play with my favorite kitchen appliance… my KitchenAid stand mixer. Seriously I cannot say enough good things about this.

Anyway, yesterday was Good Friday and we are only allowed to have one real substantial meal on this day. The rest of the day includes fasting. Also you are not allowed any meat. So my husband requested a dish I make fairly often… Caprese Pasta.

It was a recipe I had gotten from my sister in law, and is incredibly easy to make. Basically it is just hot cooked pasta

IMG_0810

tossed with basil and tomatoes that have been sauteed in olive oil with a little garlic

IMG_0807

and then you throw in some fresh mozzarella.

IMG_0805

The hot pasta slightly melts the cheese and can only be described as… heavenly.

I wanted to try something a little different though. I had never made a “flavored” pasta before, and I wanted an excuse to get my husband in the kitchen with me. He’ll be the first to tell you he doesn’t really cook at all. I won’t go into details, but we’re definitely better off eating my cooking.IMG_0806

So we made a basic egg pasta and added in some fresh chopped basil. We ran it through our pasta roller attachment and cut it into fettuccine.

IMG_0814

I feel like this pasta really made the dish. The flavor wasn’t overpowering, and there’s just something about fresh pasta that is just divine. We actually may be making more of it today!

Please try and enjoy! Like, share, subscribe. Hopefully I’ll get my camera and everything working again soon.

 

Fresh Basil Pasta (adapted from KitchenAid Basic Egg Pasta)

IMG_0809

4 eggs
3 1/2 c flour
2-3 Tbsp water (I used a little more…. My dough was a little dry)
2-3 tbsp fresh basil chopped fine

Add the eggs, flour, and water to stand mixer and beat for 30 sec on low then add the basil. If you have a dough hook then attach it and “knead” the dough in the mixer for 2 minutes. Remove and knead on the counter for a minute then let it rest for about 15. Run through the pasta roller attachment (if you have one) or a pasta roller and cut into noodles. Quickly boil in water.

For the Caprese Pasta

In a skillet heat 2-3 tbsp of olive oil with garlic until fragrant. Add in 1-2 tbsp of fresh chopped basil and 1 cup cherry tomatoes halved until very warm. Toss with the freshly cooked pasta and add in a cup of fresh mozzarella in cubes (or if you are lucky enough to find the pearl mozzarella, its so easy to use!)

Leave a Reply

