Garlic Rosemary Dutch Oven Bread

Helllo all! So lately I haven’t been cooking as much as usual because I did a mass cook of crockpot meals from recipes I found on Sidetracked Sarah. She has weekly crockpot meals for her family of eight. I thought it would be helpful to make some crockpot meals for my family to help save money at the grocery store. Well, that is true it did, but the “week” worth of crockpot meals I made is now moving on to about week 3 for us. Apparently meals fit to feed eight for a night feed a family of two for several days and nights. The food is delicious and I recommend that you try it.

Despite not cooking a whole lot, I have been really into making my own bread lately. There is just something about warm, homemade, crusty bread that is just so wonderful. I have tried a few recipes but today I decided I really wanted to try a type of flavor infused bread.

051

After scouring through Pinterest a bit, as well as suggestions from friends I found a recipe that I liked from She Knows which you can access by clicking on that link. That will take you to the original recipe.
I made a very few modifications to this as far as the actual recipe, however I did change how I baked the bread. Rather than putting the bread into a cold dutch oven and then baking, I preheated the oven with the dutch oven inside. Also instead of putting olive oil in the bottom of the dutch oven, I used parchment paper instead and lowered my bread in. All the basic steps are the same.

 

This bread is awesome. I love pretty much any recipe with garlic in it, and this one did not fail me. I would even sacrifice a kiss from my husband to eat this. Pictures coming soon with more description of the process but just wanted to give a heads up that it is coming soon.

Enjoy life!

 

 

Garlic rosemary Dutch oven bread loaf recipe

Adapted from She Knows

Yields 1 loaf

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/4 teaspoons active yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 5 tablespoons butter (3/4 stick)
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary or 1 tbsp fresh chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Sea Salt

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 with dutch oven inside
  2. Combine water, yeast and sugar in a small bowl and stir gently. Let it sit until bubbly about 10 minutes039
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer equipped with a dough hook, add flour and salt040
  4. Melt the butter in a small saucepan on the stove and add garlic and rosemary, then remove from the heat042
  5. Pour the water/yeast mixture and the butter mixture into the bowl of the stand mixer. Mix on a low speed for about 10 minutes until it forms a dough ball that is cleanly coming away from the edges of the bowl.
  6. Remove the dough from the mixing bowl and place in a large greased bowl. Cover with plastic wrap or lid and set in a warm place to rise.043
  7. Once dough has doubled in size, remove it from the bowl, punch it down  and knead for about 1 to 2 minutes. Reshape the dough into a ball and set aside.045
  8. Place ball onto parchment paper and carefully remove the dutch oven from the hot oven. Also CAREFULLY remove the lid and CAREFULLY lower the loaf into the dutch oven.
  9. Using a serrated knife, cut 3 slits or and “X” on the top of the loaf.047
  10. Pour the olive oil on the top and sprinkle with a little sea salt
  11. Return the lid and bake at 425  for 30 minutes.049
  12. Remove the lid from the pot and bake for an additional 7-10 minutes if necessary or until the top is crusty and golden brown.

*Note: I did not  need to do the additional minutes on mine because It came out perfectly browned without it.

Leave a Reply

